skip to main content

Women in Physics

University of Mississippi

Upcoming events

Date Event
Tues, February 19     6-7 P.M. Oxford Science Cafe
Dr. Erin Calipari (Vanderbilt University School of Medicine) will present “The Neuroscience of Addiction.”

Past events

Date Event
Tues, November 13     6-7 P.M. Oxford Science Cafe
Dr. Inoka Widanagamage (University of Mississippi) will present “Mississippi River Water pollution and Farming.”
Wed, November 7 STEM Demo Day
Women in STEM will perform demos at the Oxford Learning Center.
Wed, November 7

2-3 P.M.

Mental Health Workshop
Andrea Welsh will hold a workshop on mental health
Tue, November 6

4-5 P.M.

Biophysics Colloquium
Speaker Andrea Welsh will talk about her current research in biophysics.
Thur, November 1

4-5 P.M.

Nobel Prize Celebration
A celebration of the recent Nobel Prize winner Donna Strickland. More information coming soon.
October TBA Chat with Gabriela Gonzalez
Dr. Gabriela Gonzalez, professor of physics and astronomy at LSU, will attend a remote interview.
Fri, October 26

7-9 P.M.

Spooky Physics Night
Join the boos and ghouls from the Department of Physics and Astronomy in Lewis Hall for our annual Spooky Physics Night!
Thur, October 25 Women in STEM Dinner
Women in STEM will hold its biannual dinner with an invited speaker. More information coming soon.
Tues, October 16 Oxford Science Cafe
Dr. Susan D. Pedigo, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, will present “The Versatility of Wheat in Cooking.
Tue, October 9 Ada Lovelace Day
Ada Lovelace Day is a celebration of the achievements that women made in STEM.
Wed, September 26 PGSA-WiP Tours
Lewis Hall lab tours given by PGSA and WiP members.
Wed, September 26 Professional Development Workshop
The UM Women in STEM will be holding a grant writing workshop.
Wed, September 19 PGSA-WiP Tours
National Center for Physical Acoustics (NCPA) lab tours given by PGSA members.
Tue, September 18 Oxford Science Cafe’
Dr. Jennifer Meyer will give a talk titled “Tides on Enceladus.” Read the abstract here.
Fri, August 31 Coffee and Conversations
Member introductions and status of WiP in Department of Physics and Astronomy
Fri, July 16 WiP @ UM STEM Camp for Girls
Members from WiP performed physics demonstrations for middle school students.
Fri, July 9 WiP @ UM STEM Camp for Boys
Members from WiP performed physics demonstrations for middle school students.
Fri, June 15 Social night
Members of WiP went out to eat Mexican food.
Thur, June 14 Coffee and Conversations
Topic: impostor syndrome
Fri, April 20 WiP @ UM STEM Fest
Apart from helping organize the 2018 UM STEM Fest, WiP introduced Dr. Katrina Caldwell, Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Community Engagement, and the movie “Hidden Figures.” They also had a table with infographics, flyers, and swag outside the Overby Auditorium.
Wed, April 11 Social night
WiP held their second social night of the year by playing board games and going out for Thai food.
Thur, March 29 Coffee and conversations
Dr. Marco Cavaglia lead the discussion based on a presentation that was given at the recent LIGO Scientific Collaboration meeting on gender bias.
Fri, March 9 Social night
WiP had their first social night of the year by going out to eat southern food.
Fri, March 2 Coffee and conversations
We discussed the current status of women in physics and a project called “Step Up 4 Women,” which aims to increase the number of women earning degrees in physics. More info